Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball team represents Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The faculty’s team currently competes in the Big East Conference. Of Division I programs yet to make a Final 4, Xavier gets the most all-time tournament wins with 27. Xavier has emerged in the NCAA Tournament 27 times, 15 times in the last 17 decades. On March 11, 2018, Xavier made its first No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament.
Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. Additionally, they have won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018.
Xavier has been listed one of the top-20 most valuable college basketball programs in the US.
The very first Xavier Basketball game on record was February 20, 1920 in the Fenwick Club in Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94–52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year conduct as head coach in 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success continued under second head coach Clem Crowe. Throughout Crowe’s 10 years since Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a listing of 96–78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head coach rank fourth all time among Xavier head trainers. [5] After the 1942–43 season, play was suspended for the subsequent two seasons due to World War II. In 1945, the program resumed under the direction of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a record of 3–16.
Back in 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Underneath Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) during the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national championship for small colleges. Xavier finished in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University at the national third-place game, 58–59. 1948 was the only year Xavier appeared in the NAIA Tournament.
In 1951, Hirt has been replaced as head trainer by Ned Wulk. Wulk directed the Musketeers to National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 look marked Xavier’s first NIT win, an 84–80 victory over Saint Louis.
After a loss to Bradley in the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head coach by Jim McCafferty. McCafferty headed the Musketeers back to a third consecutive NIT in 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier seized the NIT. That was the first postseason championship obtained by almost any Ohio Division I college.
Back in 1961, McCafferty led Xavier to their original appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier fell to Morehead State at the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky.
McCafferty has been replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be followed by Don Ruberg (1963–67), George Krajack (1967–71), Dick Campbell (1971–73) and Tay Baker (1973–79).
In 1979, Xavier was among the charter members of this Midwestern City Conference (nicknamed the MCC or Midwestern City , and currently known as the Horizon League), which also comprised Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That year also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, that compiled an 88–86 list during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT.

Read more: fm2012.net

Escrito por
Más de Mario

How-to Compose an Essay to get a College Placement Test

No matter just in case you happen to be composing an essay...
Leer más

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *